Hope Academy Recognized by Louisiana Council for Exceptional Children

Hope Academy is proud to announce that the Louisiana Council for Exceptional Children (LACEC) has recognized and awarded two individuals and one business for their service and advocacy to those in the special education community.

LACEC has named Principal Linda Stone the 2014 Special Education Leadership Professional of the Year.  Teachers Mr. Matthew Caillet, Mrs. Jenny Zeringue, and Mrs. Joey Simoneaux nominated Ms. Stone for her service to Hope Academy and the special education community with special emphasis of her work in coauthoring legislation with Representative Franklin Foil for the School Choice Scholarship Program (originally Act 515), the CABAS® program, and the plethora of service projects she has undertaken, participated in, and, supervised.

Jan Chiles, former PAF President and current member of the Hope Academy Board of Trustees, is the 2014 LACEC Parent Advocate of the Year.  Mrs. Chiles has orchestrated and participated in numerous projects, both formal and informal, and has volunteered endlessly for not only Hope Academy but also the special education community.  She is the second person to receive this honor in Louisiana and Hope Academy.  Mr. Caillet and the 2013 Parent Advocate Mrs. Christie Schexnayder nominated her.

Finally, Hope Academy is pleased to announce that Bet-R, co-owned and managed by Cliff Boulden, is the LACEC Business of the Year.  Bet-R currently employs numerous Hope Academy students, alumni, and their families in various positions, and Mr. Boulden and his employees have voluntarily coached the school’s flag football and basketball teams.  Mr. Caillet and Special Education Director Ms. Sharon Moore nominated Bet-R.

Ms. Stone, Mrs. Chiles, and Bet-R will be recognized at the LACEC Super 33 Conference Awards Program & President’s Reception on Monday, January 27 at 3:30 PM at the Cajundome in Lafayette, LA.